zum Inhalt springenzur Navigation
Arditti Quartet

Arditti Quartet



Arditti Quartet: In the Realms of the Unreal


  • Julián CarrilloDos Bosquejos [2 Skizzen]. Nr. 1 (1926)
  • Karlheinz Esslupward, behind the onstreaming it mooned. Streichquartett Nr. 3 (2001)
  • James ClarkeStreichquartett Nr. 6 (2020  EA)
  • Olga NeuwirthIn the realms of the unreal (2009)
  • Julián CarrilloDon Bosquejos. Nr. 2 (1926)
  • Pauline Oliveros70 Chords for Terry: A Meditation on String Theory (2005  EA)
  • Betsy JolasStreichquartett Nr. 8 »Topeng« (2019  EA)
  • Ashley FureAnima (2017  EA)


  • Arditti Quartet
  • Irvine Arditti:Violine
  • Ashot Sarkissjan:Violine
  • Ralf Ehlers:Viola
  • Lucas Fels:Violoncello
  • Jérémie Bourgogne:Klangregie IRCAM

The Arditti Quartet practically lives in the realm of the unreal – in any case, string quartets have a head start of a few centuries when it comes to knowledge about the unknown territory beyond the twelve semitones. Olga Neuwirth (her most recent quartet gives this evening its name), Karlheinz Essl (happy 60th birthday!) and James Clarke are probably known by Viennese fans of the Quartet. The mexican microtone pioneer Julián Carrillo, however, is making his Konzerthaus debut (according to our database). The three Austrian premieres of works by Pauline Oliveros, Betsy Jolas and Ashley Fure promise ear-opening discoveries – using electronic stethoscopes, the last of the three transforms the sound of the quartet’s rare old wooden instruments into a roaring sound bath of decidedly futuristic nature.

Produktion Wien Modern